North Tanami Band’s brand new album ‘Proud to be Warlpiri’ will be launched Thursday 26 March at the Memo Club in Alice Springs (1-3pm). It’s the third album to be released on CAAMA Music’s new Therrka label for grass-roots recording by community bands, following Desert Mulga and Running Water’s album, which were released earlier in March.

As one of the pioneering bands of the Desert Reggae sound, North Tanami Band has been hugely influential for the current generation of Central Desert bands.

Formed in the 1980’s, North Tanami Band first recorded with CAAMA Music in 1988. With five albums spanning nearly 20 years, the band has inducted many young musicians into the fold, encouraging many girls and women to sing with them in their live shows.

North Tanami Band at Bush Bands Bash 2014

Photo credit: Steven Pearce and MusicNT ‘Bush Bands Bash’


The current line-up is Zach Patterson (lead vocals and rhythm guitar), Matthew Patterson (keys), Dion Patterson (lead guitar & backing vocals), Mike Patterson (bass), Michael McDonald (backing vocals), Callum Scobie (keys), Bradley Rockman (drums) and Caleb Patrick (keys).

The new album is for sale from the CAAMA Music sales office in Alice Springs, or phone (08) 8951 9732.

Listen to their new single here on Soundcloud.Listen to North Tanami Band